

Headline	Only 20 teams entered for new MHL season		
MediaTitle	The Star		
Date	05 Jul 2016	Language	English
Circulation	338,368	Readership	1,032,000
Section	Sports	Page No	47
ArticleSize	147 cm <sup>2</sup>	Journalist	N/A
PR Value	RM 10,542		



## Only 20 teams entered for new MHL season

KUALA LUMPUR: The response has been poor for the new season of the Malaysia Hockey League (MHL).

Only 20 teams have joined the league when the deadline for entries closed on Friday.

A total of 30 teams competed in all the three categories – two for men and one for women – last season.

All six teams who competed in the Premier Division last year are back again. They are Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC), champions Terengganu Hockey Club, Sapura, Maybank, Universiti Kuala Lumpur and Tenaga Nasional.

In Division One, there were 13 teams last year but only eight have signed up for the new season. In the women's category, the figure is down to six from the 11 that took

## THE TEAMS

## Men

Premier Division: Terengganu Hockey Club, Tenaga Nasional, Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC), Sapura, Maybank, Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL).

Division One: Nur Insafi, UiTM, ATM Airod, TNB Thunderbolts, Bukit Jalil Sports School, SSTMI, Ipoh City Council, Politeknik Malaysia.

## Women

Blue Warriors (PDRM), PKS-Uniten-KPT, ATM Pernama, SSTMI, Politeknik Malaysia, Terengganu.

part last year.

George Koshy, the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) deputy president and competitions committee chairman, admitted that the turnout was rather poor.

"We are still hoping that some of the teams that played last year will take part. We will call them up and see if they would like to play. The deadline is closed but if they are interested we will accommodate them," he said.

Initially, the MHC were hoping to have eight teams in the Premier Division. But with the poor response in Division One, they are now unable to promote the two teams to the top flight.

For the new season, the MHC have restricted the use of national players – local and foreign – per team. Only eight national players – local and foreign – are allowed to play during a match. All the teams are, however, still allowed to hire six foreign players.

The Division One will kick off on Aug 5. The Premier Division will only begin on Aug 15.