

| Headline    | Terengganu whip Maybank to take giant step towards third overall |            |             |  |
|-------------|--|------------|-------------|--|
| MediaTitle  | The Star   |            |             |  |
| Date        | 22 Sep 2016  | Language   | English     |  |
| Circulation | 338,368  | Readership | 1,032,000   |  |
| Section     | Sports   | Page No    | 47          |  |
| ArticleSize | 235 cm <sup>2</sup>  | Journalist | S. Ramaguru |  |
| PR Value    | RM 35,481  |            |             |  |
|             |  |            |             |  |



## Terengganu whip Maybank to take giant step towards third overall title

By S. RAMAGURU

KUALA LUMPUR: Premier Division champions Terengganu took a giant step towards their third overall final after whipping Maybank 6-1 in the first leg of the

Maybank 6-1 in the first leg of the TNB Cup semi-finals.

Terengganu, the 2014 and 2015 overall champions, surprisingly conceded an early goal before fighting back to secure a convincing win at the Kuala Lumpur Hockey Stadium yesterday. Maybank took a seventh minute lead when Mohamed Firdaus Fauzi

netted a field goal after a quick counter-attack.

But Terengganu regained their composure to equalise through Ismail Abu's (pic) field goal in the 16th minute.



Faizal Shaari then made it 2-1, also a field goal in the 44th minute. Ismail was again on target in the

49th minute. A minute later, South Korean Jang Jung-hyun scored his 11th goal of the tournament by con-

verting a penalty corner.
Faizal capped a fine show with his second goal in the 53rd minute

and Mohamed Amirul Mirza Rozi completed the scoring in the 57th

Terengganu coach Sarjit Singh

was surprised by the big win.
"Now we have a good advantage for the second leg (on Friday). But there are still some areas we need to improve on. Overall, I'm happy the players took their chances well despite the early setback," said

In the other semi-final, Sapura

secured a 3-1 win over Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC). Sapura only managed to break the deadlock after 35 minutes with Australian Oscar Wookey hitting a penalty corner past goalkeeper Roslan Jamaluddin. Five minutes later, KLHC drew

level when South Korean Nam

Hyun-woo scored a direct attempt from a penalty corner.

Sapura, however, regained the lead in the 42nd minute through Kiwi Phillip Burrows' field goal. And Gurbaj ensured Sapura secured a two-goal advantage by scoring a field goal in the 52nd minute. In the President's Cup, Division

One champions TNB Thunderbolt scored a slim 3-2 semi-final, first-leg win over Politeknik Malaysia at the

win over Politeknik Malaysia at the Tun Razak Stadium. Mohamed Idris Samad (first and 37th minutes) and Mohamed Azraai Aizad (51st minute) scored for TNB while Mohamed Zulfiler. Abdul while Mohamed Zulfikar Abdul Gani (38th) and Mohamed Asyraf

Zuhry were on target for Politeknik. In the other semi-final, former champions UiTM-KPT beat SSTMI



| KESUL                   | 12  |             |   |
|-------------------------|-----|-------------|---|
| TNB CUP<br>> SEMI-FIN   | ALF | IRST LEG    |   |
| TERENGGANU              | 6   | MAYBANK     | 1 |
| SAPURA                  | 3   | KLHC        | 1 |
| PRESIDENT<br>> SEMI-FIN |     |             |   |
| TNB T'BOLT              | 3   | P. MALAYSIA | 2 |
| SSTMI                   | 3   | UITM KPT    | 4 |